Maine is one of the many states that does not offer no-fault insurance. About a dozen states use no-fault policies, also known as personal injury protection, which means that the insurance company of each person involved in a car accident will cover its own policyholder. In other words, no-fault states make it so insurance companies will pay for your damages, regardless of who’s at fault for the collision.
Maine, however, is a traditional liability coverage state. Under Maine’s laws, the at-fault driver must cover the costs of the other driver’s medical expenses and damages. This gives Maine residents who have been hit by another driver a few options in terms of receiving compensation for their expenses.
Let’s take a look at these options and laws regarding Maine auto insurance and why hiring a car accident lawyer is often the best course of action.
Receiving Compensation in a “Fault” Car Insurance State
Once a driver is deemed responsible for the car accident, they are obligated to cover damages and injury expenses. The driver who was hit can file a claim under their own insurance policy, file a personal injury lawsuit against the driver who hit them or file a claim directly with the at-fault driver’s own insurance company.
Car insurance is required by law in the state of Maine, however, some driver’s are still on the roads without any coverage. Luckily, Maine has regulations to protect motorists from uninsured or underinsured drivers. All auto insurance policies sold in the state must include an uninsured/underinsured driver coverage supplement. This will help you cover your losses and expenses after an accident so you’re not completely paying out of pocket for something that wasn’t your fault.
Other Car Insurance Requirements in Maine
In addition to having the uninsured/underinsured coverage add-on, Maine has other specific car insurance requirements for drivers. These regulations are in place so that people on the roads can remain protected after an accident. In fact, among other states, Maine has some of the highest minimum coverage requirements. These include the following:
- Maine drivers must, at minimum, have a $50,000 coverage amount for the death or injury of an individual person, whether it’s yourself, a pedestrian, another driver or a passenger.
- $100,000 is the smallest required coverage amount for a single accident.
- For property damage, Maine drivers must have at least $25,000 in coverage.
- Medical payments coverage, which addresses medical expenses that occurred as a result of injuries sustained in an accident, should be $2,000 per person in the insured vehicle.
Under Maine law, drivers may also opt for a $125,000 single combined policy. These amounts are only the minimum requirements. It’s not unwise to choose maximum coverage for your policy. This can keep you protected if you’re ever at fault for an accident.
Hire a Car Accident Lawyer in Maine
If you’re involved in a car accident and are unsure of your rights and coverage, a car accident lawyer can help. Deciding on how you’d like to go about receiving compensation can be confusing, but it’s important not to waste time following a collision.
The dedicated attorneys at Lowry & Associates are happy to handle your case and offer legal advice. Contact us at 207-775-3819 or fill out our free case review form to see how we can help you receive the compensation you deserve.